Como nuevo




AÑO: 1972 - 2006


Nuggets: Original Artyfacts from the First Psychedelic Era is a compilation album of American psychedelic and garage rock singles that were released during the mid-to-late 1960s. It was created by Lenny Kaye, who was a writer and clerk at the Village Oldies record shop in New York. He would later become the lead guitarist for the Patti Smith Group. Kaye produced Nuggets under the supervision of Elektra Records founder Jac Holzman. Kaye conceived the project as a series of roughly eight LP installments focusing on different US regions, but Elektra convinced him that one double album would be more commercially viable.[4] It was released on LP by Elektra in 1972 with liner notes by Kaye that contained one of the first uses of the term "punk rock".[5] It was reissued with a new cover design by Sire Records in 1976. In the 1980s, Rhino Records issued Nuggets in a series of fifteen installments, and in 1998 as a 4-cd box set.

Jon Savage, in his history of the UK punk rock scene, England's Dreaming, cites Nuggets as a major influence on punk bands and includes it in his essential punk discography, alongside Iggy and the Stooges' Raw Power and The Velvet Underground's White Light/White Heat.

Many other compilation albums took their cue from Nuggets, including the Pebbles, Rubble - 20 volumes of mainly UK 1960s-era psychedelia released in the 1980s - and Back From the Grave series. Nuggets spawned an entire cottage industry of small record labels dedicated to unearthing and releasing obscure but worthy garage and psychedelic rock music from the 1960s.

In 1998 Rhino brought the original LP to CD, reproducing the original song sequence and liner notes. However, rather than releasing a single-disc release of the original LP, Rhino put the original disc in a box set with three other discs, an extra 91 songs in total that were not on the original LP. Contrary to popular belief, many of the songs were American Top 40 hits: more than a third of the original Nuggets would fall into that category, while Rhino's expanded set featured such smash hits as "Incense and Peppermints" by Strawberry Alarm Clock (#1), "Louie, Louie" by the Kingsmen (#2), "Wooly Bully" by Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs (#2), "Little Bit o' Soul" by the Music Explosion (#2), and "Time Won't Let Me" by the Outsiders (#5).

"Louie, Louie", "Laugh, Laugh", "Farmer John", "Psycho", "The Witch", and The Gestures' "Run, Run, Run" fall outside the set's stated time frame of 1965-1968; "Louie, Louie" having been released in 1963 and the rest in 1964.

In Europe in 2006 Rhino released a remastered version of the album featuring the original 1972 tracklist on a single compact disc in a miniaturized replica of the original gatefold sleeve. However, unlike the original album the tracks were presented using their mono mixes. In 2012 the album was again remastered, this time directly from the same tapes as the original 1972 release, featuring mono and stereo mixes. Available in double LP and digital formats, this version included updated release notes from Kaye and Jac Holzman.

It was voted number 479 in the third edition of Colin Larkin's All Time Top 1000 Albums (2000).[6] In 2003, the album was ranked number 196 on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time,[7] maintaining the rating in a 2012 revised list.[8] It was later ranked down at 405 on the 2020 edition

Side one

  1. The Electric Prunes: "I Had Too Much to Dream (Last Night)" (Annette Tucker, Nancie Mantz) - 3:02 (#11)
  2. The Standells: "Dirty Water" (Ed Cobb) - 2:50 (#11)
  3. The Strangeloves: "Night Time" (Bob Feldman, Jerry Goldstein, Richard Gottehrer) - 2:35 (#30)
  4. The Knickerbockers: "Lies" (Beau Charles, Buddy Randell) - 2:46 (#20)
  5. The Vagrants: "Respect" (Otis Redding) - 2:17
  6. Mouse: "A Public Execution" (Knox Henderson, Ronnie Weiss) - 3:02 (#121)
  7. The Blues Project: "No Time Like the Right Time" (Al Kooper) - 2:49 (#96)

Side two

  1. The Shadows of Knight: "Oh Yeah" (Elias McDaniel) - 2:51 (#39)
  2. The Seeds: "Pushin' Too Hard" (Richard Marsh) - 2:39 (#36)
  3. The Barbarians: "Moulty" (Barbara Baer, Douglas Morris, Eliot Greenberg, Robert Schwartz) - 2:37 (#90)
  4. The Remains: "Don't Look Back" (William McCord) - 2:45
  5. The Magicians: "An Invitation to Cry" (Alan Gordon, James Woods) - 2:59
  6. The Castaways: "Liar, Liar" (Dennis Craswell, Jim Donna) - 1:56 (#12)
  7. The 13th Floor Elevators: "You're Gonna Miss Me" (Roky Erickson) - 2:31 (#55)

Side three[edit source]

  1. Count Five: "Psychotic Reaction" (Craig Atkinson, John Byrne, John Michalski, Kenn Ellner, Roy Chaney) - 3:09 (#5)
  2. The Leaves: "Hey Joe" (Billy Roberts) - 2:53 (#31)
  3. Michael and the Messengers: "Romeo & Juliet" (Bob Hamilton, Fred Gorman) - 2:02 (#129)
  4. The Cryan' Shames: "Sugar and Spice" (Fred Nightingale) - 2:33 (#49)
  5. The Amboy Dukes: "Baby Please Don't Go" (Big Joe Williams) - 5:41 (#106)
  6. Blues Magoos: "Tobacco Road" (John D. Loudermilk) - 4:44

Side four[edit source]

  1. The Chocolate Watchband: "Let's Talk About Girls" (Manny Freiser) - 2:45
  2. The Mojo Men: "Sit Down, I Think I Love You" (Stephen Stills) - 2:25 (#36)
  3. The Third Rail: "Run, Run, Run" (Arthur Resnick, Joey Levine, Kris Resnick) - 1:57 (#53)
  4. Sagittarius: "My World Fell Down" (Geoff Stephens, John Shakespeare) - 3:52 (#70)
  5. Nazz: "Open My Eyes" (Todd Rundgren) - 2:47 (#112)
  6. The Premiers: "Farmer John" (Dewey Terry, Don Harris) - 2:29 (#19)
  7. The Magic Mushrooms: "It's-a-Happening" (David Rice, Sonny Casella) - 2:47 (#93)
49,00 € 57,00 €